top of page

The Perfect Office by Stokes-Kennedy Design


Check out my beautiful new office by Stokes-Kennedy design.

I have always liked décor but never had enough money to get the look that I really wanted. When I finally did have some money, I didn’t have the time and couldn’t see myself investing in my “like” of décor. I flipped through Veranda and French Décor magazines. I even made a few boards on PINTEREST, hoping to get inspired and find similar items in the stores. (I am very comfortable going to Wal-Mart or Ross and getting items that match a color scheme.)

What I needed was a working office that is allowed me to be creative, comfortable, and has lots of storage. Most of all, I needed an office that represented a grown woman with a career.

Stokes-Kennedy to the rescue! Stokes Kennedy is a married team of designers, MyLin Stokes-Kennedy and my sister Lindsay Stokes-Kennedy, who are based out of Los Angeles. They have a really eclectic eye for design and are very conscious of varying budgets.

Stokes-Kennedy immediately saw the potential in my small office space. First we had a long discussion about what I wanted and what I would use my space for. They even looked at those numerous scatter brained PINTEREST boards I created. They talked to some local urban artists for original wall art and created a few storyboards.

But of course, the measure of a great designer is how well they deal with difficult clients…and I was one of the worst! The storyboards I agreed on before the design day, I threw out. Which meant they started from scratch the day we were supposed to move things in the office. I changed color schemes a few time (or was unrealistic about color schemes in general). I insisted on going on all of the shopping trips. I definitely annoyed the couple with my extreme demands and excessive “no’s” to décor items. These ladies stayed gracious and professional the entire time, maintaining a can-do attitude. (My sister had much to say once she was home and out of designer mode. I deserved it) I must say my office would not have become the chic lady’s workspace I was dreaming of is I hadn’t trusted their final decisions on the décor and layout.

If Stoke-Kennedy were willing to work with the most demanding client again, I would definitely hire them again.

You can contact this amazing team of Designer

​www.stokeskennedy.com | @esskayyy | @stokeskennedy.com | stokeskennedy.tumblr.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page